Skip to content

Does Campbell’s® label the top nine allergens (peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, fish, wheat, soy, sesame and shellfish)?

We follow all government regulations regarding product labeling. When any of these top nine allergens is present in any quantity, it will always be listed in our product ingredient statement. We recommend that consumers evaluate each product based on its ingredient statement. To prevent possible cross-contact between products, we use an extensive and effective sanitation procedure between processing operations.

Does Campbell’s® label dairy, casein and whey ingredients?

We follow all government regulations regarding product labeling. When dairy products, including milk, butter, casein, whey and cheese, are present in any quantity, they will always be listed in our product ingredient statement. We recommend that consumers evaluate each product based on its ingredient statement. To prevent possible cross-contact between products, we use an extensive and effective sanitation procedure between processing operations.

Do you have any gluten free products?

We have hundreds of different products across our portfolio that are gluten free. These include Campbell’s Condensed Gluten Free Soups, Campbell’s Tomato Juice and most of our Pace salsas, Prego Italian sauces, Swanson broths and stocks and V8 juices. Pacific Foods and Late July also offer a variety of gluten free products, while Snyder’s of Hanover and Pretzel Crisps offer a variety of gluten free pretzels. You can find gluten free products on our brand sites, including Campbell’s, Swanson, Pace, Prego, and Snyder’s of Hanover.

What process do we use to ensure products are gluten free?

We have a strict two-step process for validating a product as gluten-free and ensuring that it meets FDA’s criteria for the claim. First, we verify all the ingredients are gluten-free, then we analyze the finished product to make sure it meets all relevant requirements. Additionally, we test finished products periodically to ensure continued compliance.

Are Campbell’s® Well Yes!® soups organic?

These soups are not organic, but they are crafted with care using purposeful ingredients and without artificial colors or flavors.

Are any Campbell’s® Well Yes!® soups vegetarian or vegan?

Yes, Campbell’s® Well Yes!® ready-to-eat soup in cans and sipping soups offer vegetarian and vegan options. Please see the complete list of our vegetarian soups.

Does Campbell’s® use chicken with no antibiotics?

In 2017, we committed to sourcing 100% “No Antibiotic Ever (NAE)” chicken for our diced and canned chicken products in the U.S. We have since achieved this goal. This means we don’t allow antibiotics to be added to the feed, water or any commercial vaccines used by our chicken suppliers. We use tens of millions of pounds of chicken a year, and we’re working with our suppliers to develop a stable, sustainable, supply chain that can continue delivering on this commitment.

Does Campbell’s® use cage-free eggs?

We are committed to the humane treatment of animals, and animal welfare is a key part of our vision for a sustainable supply chain. We require our suppliers to implement procedures to prevent the mistreatment of animals, including how they are raised, cared for, transported, and processed. We have begun using cage-free eggs in the majority of our products and are working with our suppliers to achieve this goal by 2025.

Does Campbell’s® offer lower sodium products?

We have developed many delicious products using our expertise to help lower the sodium level. Visit our Product Page to explore our low sodium and reduced sodium varieties.

Do Campbell’s® products contain GMOs?

GMO is short for “genetically modified organisms.” It is sometimes called genetic engineering or bioengineering and refers to a process where desirable traits or characteristics are introduced into an organism. In America, many farmers who grow canola, corn, soybean and sugar beet choose to use genetically modified seeds and have done so for nearly twenty years because it reduces costs and improves yields. More than 90% of these four crops in America are currently grown using genetically modified seeds. These crops are used to make a wide range of different ingredients that are used in foods we eat every day, ranging from vegetable oils to sugar. We are comfortable using these genetically modified crops because scientists and the FDA, who have been studying genetic engineering for many years, agree that food ingredients made with these methods are safe and aren’t different from other ingredients. We know many of you want to know which ingredients we use are derived from these crops. The following list is a comprehensive selection of ingredients that we use that may be derived from crops grown from genetically engineered seeds. These ingredients are NOT used in all products and aren’t different from other ingredients.   Corn
  • Corn (except sweet corn kernels)
  • Corn chips
  • Corn oil
  • Corn flour
  • Corn gluten
  • Corn starch
  • Corn syrup
  • Dextrose
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Maltodextrin
  • Modified corn starch
  • Modified waxy maize
Sugar beets
  • Citric acid
  • Sugar/Sucrose
  • Sugar syrup
  • Invert sugar
  • Molasses
  • Brown sugar
  • Hydrolyzed soy protein
  • Soybean flour
  • Soy lecithin
  • Soybean oil
  • Soy protein concentrate
  • Soy protein isolate
  • Soybean hulls (fiber)
  • Vegetable oil
Canola / Cottonseed
  • Canola oil
  • Cottonseed oil
  • Flax seed
  • Margarine
  • Partially hydrogenated cottonseed oil
  • Vegetable oil
For more information, visit the company’s position on GMOs.   OUR POSITION ON GMO LABELING: Campbell’s is committed to printing clear and simple language on the labels of our U.S. products which use ingredients derived from genetically modified crops. We talked to thousands of consumers and learned about what they want to know about GMOs in their food, including for specific GMO ingredients to be identified on labels using simple and familiar language. Our current label statement reads: The ingredients from corn / soy / canola / sugar in this product come from genetically modified crops. This meets consumers’ needs – it’s clear, simple, and familiar and it points out what are the specific GMO ingredients.

Do Campbell’s® products contain High Fructose Corn Syrup?

High Fructose Corn Syrup or HFCS is a liquid sweetener. Although we have significantly reduced our use of the ingredient in recent years, we do use high fructose corn syrup when it is right for the recipe, mostly to help deliver a smoother texture than other sugars can provide, or to keep the cost of a product affordable. High fructose corn syrup contains the same number of calories as table sugar and has been widely used in the food industry for more than fifty years. More than 80% of the products we offer for retail sale in the United States do not contain high fructose corn syrup including Campbell’s® Sauces, Campbell’s® Homestyle soup, and Slow Kettle® Style soups. Many people have told us they would prefer to avoid HFCS, which is why we will continue to move away from using it in new products we launch and explore opportunities to remove it from certain existing products.

Do Campbell’s® products contain monosodium glutamate (MSG)?

Monosodium glutamate (MSG) is the sodium salt of a common amino acid. MSG occurs naturally in many foods, such as tomatoes and cheeses. It has been used safely as a seasoning in cooking for more than 100 years. It adds a savory or umami flavor and when used in conjunction with salt it creates a clean savory taste. MSG is lower in sodium compared with table salt (sodium chloride). It contains only 13% sodium compared to 39% sodium in table salt. This means a small amount of MSG can be used instead of salt to create an appealing savory flavor. This is particularly useful when making great tasting foods which have reduced sodium and fat. For people looking to avoid MSG, we make nearly 600 different product varieties that don’t contain added MSG*. These include soups, cooking sauces, canned pastas and others in our Meals & Beverages portfolio. *Soup products that do not have MSG added, but do have small amount naturally occurring in the yeast extract.

Do you use any artificial flavoring or colors in your products?

All the ingredients we use in our products are declared safe by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. In a small number of our products, we do use colorings to make the food more visually appealing, which we label using their common names.  We understand that some people try to avoid artificial flavors and colors, and we continue to look at alternative solutions to remove these ingredients from our portfolio.

How does Campbell’s® use and source palm oil?

100% of the palm oil sourced for the food we make and sell under the Campbell’s portfolios in the US is certified by the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) using the mass balance model. Both Campbell’s and our palm oil suppliers are members of RSPO, a group composed of organizations and individuals with direct involvement in the palm oil supply chain. To learn more about the versatility of palm oil, the impacts if produced unsustainably, and RSPO’s work towards sustainable palm oil, visit the RSPO website. To learn more about Campbell’s approach to palm oil, view our Sustainable Palm Oil Sourcing Guidelines.

Where can I find the “Best Used By” date on the product?

Depending on the product type, the “Best Used By” date is printed on the end of cans and bowls, on the lid and/or neck of the jar or bottle, or at the bottom of the back of the pouch.

If my Campbell product is past the “Best Used By” date, can I still use it?

To ensure that our consumers enjoy the best quality product, we print a “Best Used By” date on each container to indicate the expected shelf life of a product. We recommend that the unopened product be used prior to this date to ensure the best flavor, texture and overall quality. Each of our products is prepared and packaged to maintain its quality and flavor for a reasonable length of time. ​ However, the shelf life will be shortened if the product is exposed to adverse storage conditions. To maximize the shelf life of the products you purchase, we recommend that you store non-refrigerated items in a cool dry place where temperatures rarely exceed 70° F.

How does Campbell support recycling and/or biodegradable materials?

We are committed to deriving 100 percent of our packaging to recyclable or industrially compostable designs and materials by 2030. To help consumers better understand how to properly dispose of and recycle our packing we’ve implemented How2Recycle instructions on many of our brand’s product labels and will continue to roll out until 100% of packaging includes recycling instructions by 2022. For more information visit Of course, recycling is subject to local guidelines, so we suggest you contact your local authority to confirm that any packaging is acceptable for recycling in your area. Our Well Yes! products are packaged in steel cans and microwavable sipping cups. ​The steel cans we use are 100% recyclable and contain up to 35% recycled steel. Our steel cans are among the safest, most convenient, affordable and environmentally sustainable forms of packaging. ​ Our sipping cups are currently not recyclable. We are actively working to improve the sustainability of our sipping platform. Our sipping cups are packaged in plastic containers with a metal ring—which is key in ensuring a safe-shelf stable product. (Both the plastic container and metal ring come from recycled sources.)

Does the packaging of your food contain BPA?

Campbell has transitioned to non-BPA lining in all of our aluminum and steel cans in the United States and Canada. PET bottles, pouches and cartons such as those used for V8 beverages, Swanson broths and Campbell’s sauces are (and have always been) non-BPA packaging. Although the FDA has determined that BPA is safe to use in food packaging, we understand that some people would prefer to avoid it and we continue to work on packaging alternatives. The containers of a few other products have metal components that have limited food contact points but are key to ensuring that the lids remain tight. BPA is used as a coating on that metal but in small amounts.